TED Talk Thursday: Success & C.R.A.P.

In a T.E.D. talk from February 2015, Richard St. John outlined eight secrets of success:

  1. Ideas
  2. Good
  3. Push
  4. Serve
  5. Passion
  6. Work
  7. Focus
  8. Persist

He compiled this list after conducting 500 interviews over seven years.  Of course, he briefly expounds on each of these elements in a witty and light-hearted manner, providing color commentary from icons of success like Bill Gate and Rupert Murdoch.  The result is sound advice delivered in three minutes and thirty seconds.

St. John’s take on persistence was most profound:

You’ve got to persist through failure. You’ve got to persist through crap! Which of course means “Criticism, Rejection, Assholes and Pressure.”  – Richard St. John, TED Talk

I will admit, I have a pile of C.R.A.P., and it is the biggest obstacle on my journey to become a published author.  I am full of ideas.  I love reading and writing.  I want to be published.  I am no stranger to hard work. I view my writing as a platform for serving others and paying it forward.  I am fortunate to have a small but committed group of folks who continually push me.

The reality is that my crap is all internal.  The potential for criticism and rejection has me paralyzed, and I am afraid to share/post/print my work, knowing that both the assholes and pressure will follow.

Maybe seven out of eight isn’t bad?

~kay

 

Credit: https://www.ted.com/talks/richard_st_john_s_8_secrets_of_success?language=en

 

Leave a Reply

