The Future

It was just as I imagined: the perfect starter home for a new family.  Jeff and I both wanted to wait at least two years before having kids.  About three years after that, we’d try for our second, and it would be time to look for something with more space.

Because of his travel, Jeff worried about me being at home alone so a third floor condo was the perfect solution.  The open, spacious floor plan would be ideal for hosting dinner parties and get-togethers with family and friends.  I visualized the perfect location for our Christmas tree.  This condo offered a bird’s eye view of the courtyard. 

This place was perfect.

“Can the space be modified to accommodate her wheelchair?”  My mother asks the realtor. 

I tune out the response, focused on the courtyard.  Even if the condo could accommodate my wheelchair, I wasn’t sure I’d ever feel at home here.  The same accident that claimed by ability to walk also robbed me of Jeff and the life we’d envisioned.

Word count: 174



This is my offering for the 114th Challenge of Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers hosted by Priceless Joy.  Many thanks to Yarnspinner for this week’s prompt.

Click here to read more amazing flash fiction!

10 comments on “The Future

  1. So sad!! She had the perfect life until the accident and it took it all away. Very touching story, Kay!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Iain Kelly says:

    So sad, all her dreams gone. I hope she finds a new dream to follow in life.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. michael1148humphris says:

    There was a fine twist in this story, which made me wonder what happened to Jeff.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Didn’t see that coming – a great story, sad, but it draws you in.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. kdub28 says:

    Sad but great story. Good job Kay!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

