Seasons

Autumn is my favorite season, and there is nothing like the turn of the season at our family cabin.  My parents and siblings like to visit in the spring and summer, take advantage of the cool, clear lake and hiking trails.  I didn’t care for all of that.  Instead, I enjoy the cool, crisp days and the chill in the air during the clear, moonlit nights that mark the steady approach of old man winter.

The leaves turn colors and fall from the branches.  Once they are bare, I take to the woods with my trusty ax to gather firewood.  I chop down a few trees, and store the logs in the woodshed just beyond the back door in anticipation of a heavy snowfall.

Along the way, I would also search for budding spruce, marking it in preparation for our family Christmas celebration, the one time of the year we all enjoy visiting the cabin.

 



 

This is my offering for the 113th Challenge of Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers.  Many thanks to Loretta Notto for this week’s prompt.

Click here to experience more amazing flash fiction.

13 comments on “Seasons

  1. Great story Kay! After reading your story it made Autumn my favorite season too! Lovely descriptions! I also wanted to remind you to link your story up on the Story Board so others can enjoy your story too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. michael1148humphris says:

    I am feeling for the trees🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. rosemawrites says:

    awwwww. the description you included made me love Autumn too! great job!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Iain Kelly says:

    A romantic and peaceful view of Autumn. Nicely done.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You paint a heartwarming tale Kay 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. kdub28 says:

    I love fall too. Great story.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

