Speed Dating

“So this was your bright idea?  Speed Dating 101?”

“Yep!”

“Come on, you can’t be serious?”

“Why not?  It’s Saturday night and neither of us has a date.”

“And so?”

“And so, it’ll be fun.”

“Fun for who?”

“For the both of us.  It’s only five rounds. Five minutes each.  The bell marks the end of round.  There is a mixer after the final round where you can talk to someone who may have sparked your interest.  Or leave and go home.”

“And the cups are for what exactly?”

“It’s just water, you know for drinking.  Talking to people actually works up a thirst.  You should try it sometime.”

“Or not because talking to you always exhaust me.”

“Come on, Shelly.  What have we got to lose by giving this a try?”

“I don’t know: our dignity!”

“Don’t be so dramatic.  This is long overdue.  You need to get back out there.  It’s been two years.”

“I know, Aimee.”

“He’s not coming back.”

“I know.  Let’s do this!” 



This is my offering for the 112th Challenge of Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers hosted by Priceless Joy.  Many thanks to Dawn Miller for this week’s prompt.  Click here to read more amazing flash fiction.

8 comments on “Speed Dating

  1. Danny James says:

    Seems like we went for the same story idea.
    DJ

    Like

  2. Hahahaha! I think I would be the same way if my friend were trying to get me to go yet I also think I would end up having a good time! Great story, Kay!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great story flow with the conversation. Nicely done.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

