Grammy

I believed the service would be the hard part, but I was wrong.  It was only the beginning.  The true test came in the days and weeks after, culminating on the day I decided to visit Grammy’s house.  I made it no further than the living room, where I sat in her rocking chair and wrapped her favorite throw around my shoulders.  The blanket’s warmth and the gliding motion of the rocker soothed me, the sights and sounds of my youth returned.  Summer days in her garden.  Holidays spent baking pastries.  Evenings around her old piano as she practiced for her weekly church service. 

Soon everything would be gone.  We would pack up Grammy’s belongings along with our memories. I removed the cover, pulled out the bench and sat down.  Placing my fingers on the keys, I started to play, hoping my Grammy could hear me.


This is my offering for the 105th Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers Challenge hosted by Priceless Joy.  Many thanks to Mike Vore for this week’s photo prompt.  If you would like to join the fun, here’s how:

Guide for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers

1. A prompt photo will be provided each Tuesday to be used as a base to your story. Please include photo prompt with your story.

2. Linking for this challenge begins on Tuesday and runs to the following Monday evening.

3. Please credit photo to photographer.

4. The story word limit is 100 – 150 words (+ – 25 words). Please try and stay within this limit.

5. Pingback to the challenge post in your story’s post.

6. This is a flash fiction challenge (stories in 100-175 words or less) and each story should have a beginning, a middle, and an end. Therefore, no serial (continuation) stories. They become too complicated for our readers.

7. Add your story to the InLinkz Link-up (Blue Froggy button). Please let me know if you need link-up instructions.

8. Please keep stories below R rating.

9. Please respect the diversity of our readers and writers in regard to race, religion, and life style choice when writing your stories.

10. Remember, half the fun is reading and commenting on each other’s stories.

 

15 comments on “Grammy

  1. Wonderful story! I have no doubt that she heard the music and it was the most beautiful music she ever heard because it was played by a grandchild that dearly loved her.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Iain Kelly says:

    Touching story, nicely done.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A very touching and tender story. Nicely done.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Enjoyed reading this! Heart-warming!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. athling2001 says:

    A beautiful but sad journey down memory lane. The phrase ‘ the sights and sounds of my youth’ captures her sadness perfectly. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. kdub28 says:

    A beautiful and touching story. Enjoyed reading this!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This was a very warming story. Grammy must be happy!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

