Feeling Less than Brave…

Image result for images for writer procrastination

Image credit: http://inkygirl.com/wwfc/

I know it’s been a while since I’ve posted anything new and inspiring.  Of course, I feel guilty about the lack of originality, hence the occasional inspirational post from Facebook or Pinterest. These things go a long way to assuage my guilt and lack of attentiveness to this blog.  I hope you enjoy them as well.

Like any good procrastinator and self-proclaimed slacker, I have tons of reasons for my absence as of late, but I will spare you all the “what had happened…” excuses, designed to elicit both pity and coddling.  The truth is I am a bit – actually, A LOT – afraid about my next steps.  I’ve been busy reading and writing and writing and reading, and now I am at a crossroads where I must make a decision about rather to move forward or remain stagnant.  Unfortunately, stagnation has won.  By a landslide!

During the summer months, I took a gigantic leap of faith and found an editor.  With a vice grip on my husband’s hand, I surrendered my first manuscript and held my breath.  The process wasn’t nearly as bad as my anxiety-laced brain thought it would be.  She offered great suggestions and really tidied up my work.  I am grateful for her skill, talent, and unyielding patience.

Now the tough part: where to go from here?  The story is written and edited, ready to be shared.

And I am terrified…

~kay

 

Leave a Reply

