Free Spirit

Image credit: http://comps.canstockphoto.com/can-stock-photo_csp29723117.jpg

A single parent raising three daughters, my mom ran a tight ship. There were rules for any and every thing, and the tiniest infraction resulted in severe punishment.

After becoming a mother, I took an opposite approach. There were no rules and punishments were non-existent.  My daughter was a beautiful free-spirit, and I did not want to dull her shine.  Others warned me about my lax approach; I brushed them off, remembering my mom’s harsh treatment.

As I entered the courtroom, I see my daughter sitting at the table with her attorney. I hoped the judge would be as lenient.

 Word count: 100



This is my offering for Moral Mondays hosted by Nortina of Lovely Curses.

This week’s prompt is a common proverb we’ve probably all heard. Maybe you agree with it, maybe you don’t . . .

Spare the rod, spoil the child

Your assignment is to write a story/fable (in any genre) that will teach this lesson.

No need to use the moral in your post, just write the story and let your readers learn the lesson all on their own.

Please limit your fable to 100 words.

After you’ve written your 100-word fable, ping back to this prompt page by simply pasting this link somewhere on your post.

Tag your story Moral Mondays so we can find you in the WordPress Reader! You can even use the badge to make your post more visible.

moral_mondays_logo

Expect a recap of the previous week’s fables along with a new moral prompt every Sunday evening at 6:00 PM (EST).

Everyone who participates will have their story shared right here in our recap carousel, so please tag and ping back, otherwise I can’t give you your proper shoutout.

Learn more about Moral Mondays here

 

13 comments on “Free Spirit

  1. Sue Ranscht says:

    Skillfully composed.

    Parents can’t foresee the certain consequences of their choices. We can only hope to teach responsibility, compassion, and respect in whatever way we think will work. Sure, there’s plenty of advice out there to try or not, but ultimately, parents have to do what they believe is right or shirk their own responsibilities.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Kay Morris says:

      Thank you for reading and commenting. This mom’s struggle reminds me of my own internal battle as a parent, reconciling how I raise my children with my own upbringing.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Sue Ranscht says:

        It’s probably more common a struggle than we realize. I think about the differences in the way each generation is raised and the things they value, the child-rearing “advice” that changes from one decade to the next, and it doesn’t surprise me at all.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I believe in balance in parenting. Too much laxity with the children can lead to trouble and too much harshness creates big problems too.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nortina S. says:

    A constant debate in parenting. Which is more harmful to the child (in terms of the adult s/he will become)? Using or sparing “the rod”? I’m sure there are good arguments for both sides, but I think this story is a great example that parents still have to be “parents”! Great writing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Deb says:

    Did not see that last part coming! I never know which way is right when it comes to raising kids. I was raised in corporal punishment and I hated it. I keep thinking I will do it a lot differently when I have my own kids. But I don’t know if different is necessarily going to be good.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. rosemawrites says:

    oh wow!!! my jaw literally dropped with that last line!!!! GEEZ!!! This is beyond GREAT, Kay!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jenn says:

    Wow, it’s important to have balance. I have noticed that parents who had ultra-strict upbringings tend to go too far in the opposite direction with their own kids. Maybe if her daughter gets her life together she’ll find the right balance if she chooses to have her own family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

