Moral Mondays: Watch Me

 4 Laws of Success for Your Home Based BusinessImage credit: http://www.brianandfeliciawhite.com/4-laws-of-success-for-your-home-based-business/

In a few short hours, I walk across the stage to receive my law degree. Pregnant and unwed, I was determined to make a better life for me and my daughter, breaking the cycle of poverty and hopelessness that surrounded me.  My daughter deserved better so I took classes during the day, worked at night, getting by on little to no sleep.  Life revolved around my daughter, work, and school.  No room for anything else.  Today, all the hard work and sacrifice would finally pay off, proving all my critics wrong.

Word count: 91


This is my offering for Moral Mondays hosted by the fabulous Nortina.  For this week’s challenge, I selected one of my mom’s favorite sayings:

“I’ll show you better than I can tell you”

Interested in participating? Here are the rules:

Since today is Mother’s Day, this week’s fables will be all about the lessons we’ve learned from Mom. The following moral is more of an optional prompt. Use it, or use one your own favorite mommy lessons as inspiration!

Nothing good ever happens after 2AM

Your assignment is to write a story/fable (in any genre) that will teach this lesson.

No need to use the moral in your post, just write the story and let your readers learn the lesson all on their own.

Please limit your fable to 100 words.

After you’ve written your 100-word fable, ping back to this prompt page by simply pasting this link somewhere on your post.

Tag your story Moral Mondays so we can find you in the WordPress Reader! You can even use the badge to make your post more visible.

moral_mondays_logo

Expect a recap of the previous week’s fables along with a new moral prompt every Sunday evening at 6:00 PM (EST).

Everyone who participates will have their story shared right here in our recap carousel, so please tag and ping back, otherwise I can’t give you your proper shoutout.

Learn more about Moral Mondays here

7 comments on “Moral Mondays: Watch Me

  1. Nortina S. says:

    Determination! So many factors go against single mothers, especially those still in school. It’s great that she’s determined to beat all those odds!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rosemawrites says:

    wow! what an empowering read, Kay! Great story!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lynn Love says:

    Nice take on the ‘Mum’ moral – rather better example than my own fictitious Mum. Nicely written and inspiring 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

