Black Coffee & the Blank Page

Image credit: https://adriejf.com/tag/writing-tips/

If we were having coffee, I’d apologize for my absence of late.  I was traveling four days last week for my nine-to-five.  Initially, I thought three nights in a hotel away from home would be the perfect opportunity to write and blog uninterrupted.  However, spending hours on the road followed by meetings made it difficult to do much else but pass out from sheer exhaustion at the end of each evening only to  wake in two hour intervals.  On top of that, spring allergies arrived with a vengeance, leaving my head in a thick fog.  Now that I am back home (and properly medicated), I can focus on writing once again.

If we were having coffee, I would admit that I missed my fellow bloggers over the past few days.  I tried to read, like and comment during my travels, but it was difficult to maintain a reliable network connection while traveling.  And free hotel Wi-Fi doesn’t necessarily mean reliable or even operational.

If we were having coffee, I would confess that traveling four days in a vehicle with three other people is less than desirable.  By day two, I was on overload, and my strong introvert tendencies took over.  Days three and four were intense.  Thankfully, travel is not a constant requirement for my job, or I might be unemployed in the near future.

If we were having coffee, I would let you know that I am expecting to receive my edited manuscript any day now.  Nervous, anxious, excited, apprehensive, tense.  These a just a few words that come close to describing my feelings right now.

If we were having coffee, I would stop babbling, thank you for your selfless indulgence, and sincerely ask: how are you?

~kay

Go Away, I'm Writing Writer's Coffee Mug

Image credit: http://www.zazzle.com/go_away_im_writing_writers_coffee_mug-168671600106923686

 

4 comments on “Black Coffee & the Blank Page

  1. trE says:

    Good to have you back…

    *on pins and needles about the manuscript*

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kay Morris says:

    Thank you ☺

    YES! YES! YES! *pins and needles, needles and pins*

    Like

  3. Welcome back! I understand. My weekend has been crazy too. I really enjoyed your blog. It is rythmic. The flow matches your emotions beautifully!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

