Introvert: Sorry I don’t Speak Very Well Sometimes …

Image credit: http://www.geneca.com/top-5-ways-to-reward-an-introvert/

As an introvert, I enjoy reading articles and such on the topic.  I believe introversion, like a host of things, is not black and white, but has various shades and tones of gray.  No one is an introvert or an extrovert 100% of the time.

One area where I struggle mightily is conversation, and this is where my introvert tendencies are strongest.  I am not much of a talker, and I do not posses the gift of gab.  And small talk?  Forget it!  This article spoke to the anxiety I often feel and provides tips for how to overcome this challenge.

To my fellow introverts, is casual conversation a challenge for you?  And for those who love us, does this lack of conversational skill drive you crazy?  Let me know your thoughts!

~kay



 

Many introverts struggle with verbal communication. The introvert advantage in conversation has to do with subtlety. With a few small tweaks introverts can make great conversationalists.

Source: Introvert: Sorry I don’t Speak Very Well Sometimes …

13 comments on “Introvert: Sorry I don’t Speak Very Well Sometimes …

  1. Peaceful Journey says:

    I believe I’m more an introvert than extrovert, but as I learned more about myself I’ve begin to develop a healthier image. Since I am still growing and developing in this area, I find I can have a balance of the two. I agree, no one is probably 100% of either, but I believe if we try to balance our weaknesses and strengths, we may evolve more in our interactions with others. At least, I’ve found a comfortable median.

    My observation is plenty of writers are introverts. Writing allows an outlet to express internal thoughts. I do that best in my interactions, even when making comments online. I am far from my earlier days with my social interactions,and I have spoken before audiences through the years. But I was never comfortable, I just knew I had the capability and leaned towards believing in myself. I think as an introvert ,we must challenge ourselves a little more to move beyond our comfort zones.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kay Morris says:

      I agree; I express myself far better in writing. It gives me an opportunity to express myself freely.
      I do make efforts to engage in more small talk when necessary, but I am not at all comfortable with it.
      While I struggle with casual conversation, I have no problem with public speaking in front of large groups.

      Like

  2. zhyxtheman says:

    This picture rings true in so many ways. I’m an introvert most of the time until I’m approached. Then I sing like a bird. I’m just not that good at starting a conversation.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pamela says:

    as a fellow introvert, I find that I am quite talkative but only to the people I feel comfortable with. It usually takes me atleast 5 interactions with someone before I get comfortable conversing with them. what I haven’t mastered yet is small talk. i just don’t get it…whats the point. i mean I can do it, but I find it mentally exhausting..lol

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I believe I am what they call ambivert, but I no longer define myself. There are moments I crave absolute silence and leave me alone times, and other times where I am a live wire.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kay Morris says:

      Ambivert? Interesting! Growing up, I was often labeled shy, anti-social, “sometimey” or “funny acting” none of which is acceptable behavior while living in the deep South. Once I discovered I was actual an introvert and there were others like me, it was a definite “ah-ha” moment ☺. Although I am still considered “stand-offish” by family and friends, I no longer upset by it or feel the need to pretend to be something else.

      Like

  5. I’m an introvert and I accept it. I am much better at small talk than I used to be. Writing over talking is so much better. Give me a pen and I will tell you what I really think. No awkward pauses on paper!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Joana Salazar says:

    As an introvert yes I hate conversations and small talks but give a topic that is interesting to me, I won’t stop talking. Also making friends is hard, it take months for me to consider a person as my friend when for them it just took days to consider me as their friend lol.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

