Sisters

moral_mondays_logo

 

We haven’t spoken in years, parting ways after burying our father.  Sisters, we rarely saw eye-to-eye.  Such was the case with Daddy’s dementia.  Shortly after his diagnosis, Daddy asked to never be placed in a nursing home.  We all agreed.  As his condition worsened, my sister changed her mind, thinking it’d be a safer option.  I refused, citing our promise.  Being the oldest, I won.  Daddy passed away after being hit by a car while wandering the neighborhood.  She blamed me.

I awoke to a ringing phone. It was 2:13 am.  “Hello?”

“Sissy?  I need you.”

“I’m on the way.”



 

This is my offering for week three of the Moral Mondays Challenge hosted by Nortina:

This week’s moral is . . .

BLOOD IS THICKER THAN WATER

Your assignment is to write a story/fable (in any genre) that will teach this lesson.

No need to use the moral in your post, just write the story and let your readers learn the lesson all on their own.

Please limit your fable to 100 words.

After you’ve written your 100-word fable, ping back to this prompt page by simply pasting this link somewhere on your post.

Tag your story Moral Mondays so we can find you in the WordPress Reader! You can even use the badge to make your post more visible.

Come join the fun!

super-happy-dance-smiley-emoticon

~kay

5 comments on “Sisters

  1. trE says:

    I’m the eldest, I usually win too. This made me think of all the decisions I’ll have to make alone regarding my parents as they age. Nicely done, Kay.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Marquessa says:

    Strange that I feel the same but I’m the youngest. Then again I’m the only sister…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nortina S. says:

    Even after blaming her for the death of their dad, when she’s in trouble, Sissy’s the first person she calls. Blood is definitely thicker than water!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

