Mommy’s mommy

 

ocean

https://pixabay.com/en/ocean-sky-sea-horizon-outdoor-316752/

“Where is your mommy, Mommy?” My precocious four year old asked.

“My mommy is in heaven, baby.”

“Heaven?”

“Yes, sweetheart. Heaven.”

“What’s she doing there?”

“My mommy got really sick and passed away when I was in college.”

“So you don’t have a mommy? That’s sad.”

“I do have a mommy. She’s just not here with us.  She’s in heaven with Jesus.”

“Mommy?”

“Yes, sweetheart.”

“Why do people die?”

“It’s the circle of life. We are all born and we all die.  Sometimes, people get sick or hurt and die early.  Other times, people live a long time and die when they get old.”

“Mommy, I hope you don’t die until you get old because I love you.”

“I hope so, too, baby, because I love you.”

“Okay, I gotta go tell Daddy.”

Later that evening, I overhead David telling his older brother Daniel about our conversation.

“It’s not stupid, Daniel. It’s the circle of life.  Mommy said.”

“Stop saying it’s the circle of life. She’s not in heaven.  She’s in the graveyard, stupid.”

Word count: 174



 

This is my offering for the March 31st Flash Fiction for the Purposeful Practitioner hosted by Roger Shipp of It’s All in Finding the Right Words.  It is loosely based on an actual conversation between me and my sons about death and dying.

~kay

8 comments on “Mommy’s mommy

  1. trE says:

    Boys will be boys. This was nice and welcoming to read before bedtime. Beautiful story of the “circle of life” with a twist.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rosemawrites says:

    awwwww. the beginning and the middle of this story is just sooo heartfelt, Kay. I almost tear up reading the circle of life dialogue. 😀

    But the finale crack me up! haha. Boy o boy! 😀

    Like

  3. kdub28 says:

    Lol! This story sounds familiar.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. wildchild47 says:

    Ahh siblings and the ideas imparted and shared, not necessarily with cruel intentions, but with the honesty and innocence of children. That lack of self-censorship, something to be praised and valued, until it stirs up the confusion.

    Well done 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

