Mood Music Monday: The Elements

Credit: https://www.historyforsale.com/productimages/thumbnails/268450a.jpg

My earliest tangible memory of Earth, Wind and Fire was this poster displayed prominently in my father’s bedroom.  I took years for me to connect this image with the songs I grew up singing and dancing to.

The passing of Maurice White, founder and lead singer of the group, prompted reminiscing.  And as tributes to these musical legends continue on the radio, on television, online, and via social media, I started to think about my favorite EF&W song.  This proved to be an impossible task!  Thinking I’d finally decided on just one, I would hear another song that forced me to reconsider.

At the end of the day, I just couldn’t decide. Thankfully, Rolling Stone came to the rescue:

Earth, Wind and Fire: 12 Essential Songs

Sweetback’s Theme (1971)

Devotion (1974)

Shining Star (1975)

Sun Goddess featuring Ramsey Lewis (1975)

That’s the Way of the World (1975)

Sing a Song (1975)

Reasons (1975)

Brazilian Rhyme (Beijo) (1975)

Got to Get You Into My Life (1978)

September (1978)

Boogie Wonderland (1979)

Let’s Groove (1981)

Credit: http://www.rollingstone.com/music/lists/earth-wind-fire-12-essential-songs-20160204

Great list, but I have the following honorable mentions:

Now it’s your turn.  What is your favorite Earth, Wind, and Fire song(s)?

 

Happy Monday!

super-happy-dance-smiley-emoticon

~kay

 

 

2 comments on “Mood Music Monday: The Elements

  1. Marquessa says:

    September! After The Love Has Gone!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

