Tennis, anyone?

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Lazy Learners.”

Is there something you’ve always wanted to learn but haven’t gotten around to? What is it and what’s stopping you from mastering the skill?

I’ve always wanted to take tennis lessons.  Google searches are as far as I’ve ever gotten, unless you count the racket purchased and used once to run around the neighborhood tennis court (which I do not).

Initially, I used my children as an excuse.  I couldn’t figure out how to fit tennis lessons into an already packed schedule with three children.  Now they are all healthy, thriving teens and tweens so scratch that off the list.

Excuse number two: work!  Ten to twelve hour days, working from home at nights and on weekends leaves very little time for anything extra-curricular.  Not to mention the immense guilt because of my schedule which forces me to devote my free time to my family.  That excuse will always be there so I just need to find a work around.

Finally, the real reason I have not signed up for tennis lessons: my lack of coordination.  I’m not an athlete and have never been athletic.  I never played organized sports as a child; I was always the smart girl.  The older I get, I envision being carted off the court strapped to a gurney with some sort of massive head trauma and a few broken extremities.  Irrational, I know, but I can’t let go of that image.

Until I can get out of my own head, no lessons for me.  Perhaps one day, I will do more than glance at the once used racket as I enter and exit my vehicle.  Maybe, just maybe, I pick it up and head back to the neighborhood courts.

2 comments on “Tennis, anyone?

  1. lifelessons says:

    Here here. I actually live in a tennis club and have never used the courts! The world needs unathletic people, too, to make the athletes look good! http://judydykstrabrown.com/2014/07/03/if-only-i-could-play-guitar/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

