Maybe I’m Crazy….Possibly?

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “I’ve Become My Parents.”

After becoming a parent, I gained a new appreciation for my own.  And although I SWORE it would never happen, I have become my parents, specifically my mother.

Like any pre-teen, I was anxious to date, hangout with my friends, go places and do things independent of my parents.  My mother wasn’t strict, but she was stern so the simplest infraction would result in a loss of privileges.  Whenever I would go out for the evening, her parting words to me would always be “Don’t do anything crazy!”  How those words annoyed me!  I was NOT crazy, and I knew that because I knew everything as a petulant adolescent.  I ignored her warnings, doing any and everything I was big enough and bad enough to do.

Now I am a mom of two teenagers and a pre-teen, all of whom are anxious to spread their wings and fly solo.  Whenever they leave the house for an evening out with friends, I worry.  So many thoughts run rampant, and there is much I want to say:

  • Be careful, stay safe
  • Mind your manners; don’t be rude
  • Remember your upbringing
  • Be a leader, not a follower
  • Your actions have consequences
  • Call if you need us

All appropriate, but there is not enough time to voice my concerns.  So I simply say, “Don’t do anything crazy!”

Thank you, Mom ❤

11 comments on “Maybe I’m Crazy….Possibly?

  1. Wow, there are a few things I’m swearing I will never do. Not gonna happen, I guess! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. dray0308 says:

    Reblogged this on Dream Big, Dream Often and commented:
    This is Kay Morris Writes!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

