Learning from Failure

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Phobia, Shmobia.”

I’ve overcome my fear of failure.  In fact, I’ve given myself permission to fail.  I now embrace opportunities where success is not guaranteed.

I must admit: I learn more from my failures than my successes.  When things go well, I tend to move on quickly, and not take the time to examine the who, what, when, and where.  I rarely remember everything that contributed to the success.

I vividly recall each one of my significant failures.  After I lick my wounds, I analyze and dissect each detail in an effort to understand who, what, when, where and how.  I learn a great deal about my strengths, my weaknesses, the things I can improve, and even some things I need to abandon.

Failure is no longer a fear.  Failure is actually freedom.  Freedom to start over, go farther, push deeper, and try harder.

failure

5 comments on “Learning from Failure

  1. lifelessons says:

    What a grown up!! I agree, though, that I’ve learned more from failures than successes–although some have been pretty painful. http://judydykstrabrown.com/2015/09/16/repromptophobia/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Real quote. You fail forward when you learn from the failure. You calibrate and relaunch 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

