Wanted: New Reading Material

help wanted

I am in desperate need of help. My request is simple: I need recommendations for new books. Simple enough, right?

I am a creature of habit: I know what I like and I like what I like. The flip side is I don’t know what I don’t know. A bit twisted, but stay with me here. I am a romantic at heart, and my first love (no pun intended) is the romance novel. Don’t judge me, and please spare me the side eyes and the involuntarily upchucks. I love a good boy meets girl, fall in love and live happily ever after. Not realistic, but I read to escape reality. Because this is my first love, I will never abandon romance novels, but I recognize the need to shift my focus a bit.

I am now at a point where I want to explore different genres.  I want to need to expand my horizons and incorporate other types of books into my library. I believe a broader reading foundation will make me a better author.

imagesOF0M850N

Anyone willing to help me out? If so, please leave a comment with the title of your recommendation along with the author’s name and a brief synopsis (synopsis is totally optional). I am open to any and all suggestions.

A MILLION THANKS!

~kay

11 comments on “Wanted: New Reading Material

  1. Hi Kay, I would suggest trying out some classic books to “expand your horizons”. There are many great literary novels but my personal favorites are Pride and Prejudice, The Outsiders, and The Great Gatsby. Hope this helps and happy reading! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kay Morris says:

      Thanks, Shannon! The Great Gatsby is one of my all-time favorites (although recent screen adaptations make me cringe). I also enjoyed Pride and Prejudice and The Outsiders, though it’s been years since I’ve read them. Maybe it’s time I re-visit these classics. Thanks again for the recommendations!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love fantasy. And if you’re up for some dark fantasy stuff, I’d suggest “Prince of Thorns” by “Mark Lawrence”. Awesome main character and one quirky read. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I would suggest you read YOU by Caroline Kepnes. I wrote a review about it on my blog. And I can’t stop talking about the book! It was that good.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love romance too and there is absolutely nothing wrong with reading them😊. Try some John Grisham and Anne Rice books.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

