My Dream Teacher

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Dream Teacher.”

My mom would be my dream teacher.  She died in 1996 after brave, four-year battle with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS or Lou Gehrig’s Disease).  I was 21 years old, at the point in my life where I could finally appreciate the lessons of my stern mother.  But time was not on our side.

Today, my mom would teach me to enjoy life, not sweat the little things, and focus on my blessings.  I need this because I tend to worry and stress over everything.  She would roll her eyes skyward, sigh in exasperation (she did this ALOT), and proceed to lecture me.  This time, I would not behave like an insolent, omniscient teenager.  Instead, I would listen intently, absorb every single word, letter by letter, and savor the moment.

6 comments on “My Dream Teacher

  1. I am sure she would be proud of how you’ve turned out so far and that you finally appreciate those lessons that she taught you during your growing years. Nice prompt response.
    http://acookingpotandtwistedtales.com/disgruntled-me-contented-me-me-as-a-whole-personality/

    Like

  2. Thank you for sharing your experience. It’s an important lesson in living life and appreciating where we are and the people in our lives. 🙂

    Like

  3. dray0308 says:

    Reblogged this on Dream Big, Dream Often and commented:
    Kay at Kay Morris Writes discusses her Dream Teacher. I enjoyed this post immensely!

    Like

  4. mmrli says:

    Reblogged this on In Between Moderation and commented:
    Just a reminder to appreciate the people we have in our life while we have them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

